Canadian Home EV Charging Rewards Program Comparison

What are these EV charging rewards programs?

Under Canada's Clean Fuel Regulations (CFR), home electric vehicle charging is recognized as a carbon-reduction activity that displaces fossil fuels. Authorized software platforms track your charging data and convert the consumed kilowatt-hours into tradeable carbon compliance credits.

How does the money get to me?

These aggregators sell the generated credits on the open market to fossil fuel producers, then pass a portion of the profits directly back to homeowners — as cash payouts, gift cards, or subsidized smart charging hardware.

So I just get paid to charge my EV at home?

Exactly. It's a private financial incentive funded by carbon market compliance, not taxpayer subsidies. The more you charge at home, the more you earn.

What is OCPP?

Open Charge Point Protocol is the standardized open-source application protocol that allows a compatible EVSE ("charger") to be configured to report usage to the rewards program provider. The advantage of buying your own OCPP-compatible EVSE is that you can change charging rewards programs easily; you're not locked into one specific program.

Last updated September 11, 2026 · Rates in CAD · Always verify details with each provider.
Program Provinces Rewards Referral Bonus Payment Method Payment Frequency EVSE Cost Supported EVSE EVSE Warranty Charge Scheduling in App
ChargeLab All $0.10 / kWh $25 Gift card Via Tango Quarterly Starting at ~$500Used OCPP can be found for ~$250 Any OCPP Bring your own N/A Yes
DashSharing All $0.10 / kWh $25Through affiliate program Direct deposit When $100 threshold reached Paid on the 1st of the next month Free rental (after $350 deposit) Deposit refunded after 1,500 kWh · Coupon CD100 = $100 off the $450 deposit Dash Sharing 40A & 48A Lifetime Yes
GreenMiles by Pion Power All $0.10 / kWh $20For both parties Cheque AnnuallyMinimum $100 Starting at $399 Pion Power Flex-AC & Flex-AC Elite 2 years Yes
Club Grizzl-E All $0.03 - $0.10 / kWh, tiered $0.10 / kWh after 35,000 kWh $0.01 / kWhBased on the usage of the people you refer E-transfer When $10 threshold reached Free rental or purchase from $499.99$100 rental deposit refunded after first charge Most Grizzl-E models Lifetime on rental, 3-year on purchased Yes
SWTCH Home Charging All $0.03 - $0.10 / kWh $0.10 / kWh after 1,500 kWh None Direct deposit When $100 threshold reached Free (after $300 deposit) Deposit refunded after 1,500 kWh SWTCH / Joint EVL007 Lifetime No
Chargy BC, ON, QC $0.10 / kWh None E-transfer or direct deposit Monthly Minimum 300 kWh/month to qualify Starting at ~$500Used OCPP can be found for ~$250 Any OCPP Bring your own Not specified No
WattsApp All $0.03 / kWh Not specified E-transfer Annually Minimum $100 N/A Tesla Gen 3 Wall Connector & Tesla Universal Wall Connector N/A No
RoadToEV All $0.10 / kWh Not specified Not specified Not specified N/A Tesla Gen3 Wall Charger Not specified No
Unico Power LISTO Not specified $0.02–$0.06 / kWh Not specified Not specified Not specified Starting at $1,495 Not specified Not specified Not specified
Roulez Électrique Club
Beta · Invite only
All $0.03 to $0.18 / kWhDepending on Province and EVSE. e.g. ON is $0.13/kWh, QC is $0.18/kWh $0.01 - $0.02 / kWh Based on the usage of the people you refer Direct deposit Annually Bring your own OCPP or purchase from $849Used OCPP can be found for ~$250 Sigenergy, FractalEV, Tesla Beta, Wallbox or Any OCPP Not specified Yes
Hypercharge Home Club All $0.03 / kWh $0.11 / kWh after 1,500 kWh None E-transfer When $100 threshold reached Processed on the last Friday of each month Free (after $299 deposit) Deposit refunded after 1,500 kWh · Must reach 1,500 kWh within 24 months Hypercharge Home Level 2 J1772 or NACS · Plug-in or hardwired 2 years No
Technove Écowatt Not specified $0.12 / kWh Not specified Cheque Once per year (July-August) $900 new, $430 used Select TechnoVE models Not specified Yes